Our motto says it all: "We would like to ride in zoomer which is not easily defeated by anyone."

Members Rides Members Rides   TR Ride of the Month TR ROTM   * Ride Utility   Support TR buy a shirt! TR Store * Login * Register
* FAQ   * Search 
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 72 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
Author Message

Shot Caller
Shot Caller

Years on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TR

Posts: 1557
Location: miami, fl
Gender: Dude

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Hubs , GY6 , fATTY setup
PostPosted: Wed Mar 09, 2011 9:58 pm 
nagoner1 wrote:
Does this hub and wheel set up work with the GY6 kit that Ruckstes sell for $1280?
Im new to this ruckus scene so this might be a stupid question. I dont care...just trying to get a fatty...lol

which kit are you referring to ? please pm me for details. thank you

_________________
DORBYWORKS FACE BOOK .http://www.facebook.com/dorbyworks

http://www.dorbyworks.ecrater.com

http://www.dorbyworks.com for media


Top
 Profile  
 

One of Us
One of Us
User avatar
Years on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TR

Posts: 648
Location: Riverside, CA
Gender: Dude

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Hubs , GY6 , fATTY setup
PostPosted: Wed Mar 09, 2011 10:01 pm 
nagoner1 wrote:
Does this hub and wheel set up work with the GY6 kit that Ruckstes sell for $1280?
Im new to this ruckus scene so this might be a stupid question. I dont care...just trying to get a fatty...lol


not sure which kit you're talking about, but to use this hub and wheel setup you'll need to offset your engine on the bike in order to center the fatty tire. a lot of the bolt on engine mounts experience some flex and warping when you offset the engine as much as is required for this wheel. i hear that most people that offset this much, use weld on mounts.

_________________
Image
build thread
Image


Top
 Profile  
 

One of Us
One of Us

Years on TRYears on TRYears on TR

Posts: 680
Location: Elizabeth Nj
Gender: Dude

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Hubs , GY6 , fATTY setup
PostPosted: Thu Mar 10, 2011 3:42 pm 
^^^^^Thanks....I kind of figured that but I had high hopes...lol

_________________
2011 Odyssey
2000 supercharged Accord
2009 Ruckus
2005 Ruckus




Build thread

viewtopic.php?f=94&t=59915


Top
 Profile  
 

★TR★Addict★
★TR★Addict★

Years on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TR

Posts: 1475
Location: Mesa, AZ
Gender: Dude

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Hubs , GY6 , fATTY setup
PostPosted: Fri Mar 11, 2011 1:55 am 
What is the spline count on the Hub?

_________________
2006 Reflexukus
My ride: viewtopic.php?f=92&t=43424
Image


Top
 Profile  
 

Habitual Offender
Habitual Offender
User avatar
Years on TRYears on TRYears on TR

Posts: 348
Location: Denver
Gender: Dude

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Hubs , GY6 , fATTY setup
PostPosted: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:29 am 
AZruckuspride wrote:
What is the spline count on the Hub?


Its for the stock gy6 axle, which is a 19 spline shaft.

Sorry for answering for u Dorby, not trying to step on toes.

_________________
DMBK

My Build Thread

MSP6 Non-newbie
Current build: Carillo rods, Wiseco Pistons, SS Top Mount Mani, GT3076, custom intake, DP, FMIC, StandBack.


Top
 Profile  
 

Shot Caller
Shot Caller

Years on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TR

Posts: 1557
Location: miami, fl
Gender: Dude

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Hubs , GY6 , fATTY setup
PostPosted: Sun Mar 20, 2011 8:58 pm 
msp6 tbot wrote:
AZruckuspride wrote:
What is the spline count on the Hub?


Its for the stock gy6 axle, which is a 19 spline shaft.

Sorry for answering for u Dorby, not trying to step on toes.

^ thanks for posting info.
i didnt see the question.

No worries i dont get sandy. im happy to give out info to anyone in need.

_________________
DORBYWORKS FACE BOOK .http://www.facebook.com/dorbyworks

http://www.dorbyworks.ecrater.com

http://www.dorbyworks.com for media


Top
 Profile  
 

★TR★Addict★
★TR★Addict★

Years on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TR

Posts: 1475
Location: Mesa, AZ
Gender: Dude

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Hubs , GY6 , fATTY setup
PostPosted: Sun Mar 20, 2011 10:53 pm 
Thanks, my GY6 has a weird 20 spline axle.

_________________
2006 Reflexukus
My ride: viewtopic.php?f=92&t=43424
Image


Top
 Profile  
 

Habitual Offender
Habitual Offender
User avatar
Years on TRYears on TRYears on TR

Posts: 348
Location: Denver
Gender: Dude

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Hubs , GY6 , fATTY setup
PostPosted: Fri Mar 25, 2011 12:24 pm 
Weird ..sounds like its time to swap to a Shorty axle with the right spline count

Sent from my HTC Glacier using Tapatalk

_________________
DMBK

My Build Thread

MSP6 Non-newbie
Current build: Carillo rods, Wiseco Pistons, SS Top Mount Mani, GT3076, custom intake, DP, FMIC, StandBack.


Top
 Profile  
 

Junior Mint
Junior Mint
User avatar
Years on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TR

Posts: 99
Location: Portland
Gender: Dude
Offline
 Post subject: Re: Hubs , GY6 , fATTY setup
PostPosted: Mon Mar 28, 2011 9:07 pm 
will it work long or short axles? And with this set up?
The 150cc
viewtopic.php?f=136&t=40372
and Composimo Mount Kit?

Thanks

_________________
speedLAB Member


Top
 Profile  
 

Junior Mint
Junior Mint
User avatar
Years on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TR

Posts: 99
Location: Portland
Gender: Dude
Offline
 Post subject: Re: Hubs , GY6 , fATTY setup
PostPosted: Fri Apr 01, 2011 1:02 pm 
Payment sent!

Thanks!

_________________
speedLAB Member


Top
 Profile  
 

One of Us
One of Us

Years on TRYears on TRYears on TR

Posts: 765
Location: Woodlands, TX
Gender: Dude

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Hubs , GY6 , fATTY setup
PostPosted: Fri Apr 08, 2011 7:10 am 
Thanks dorby for the quick reply. Payment sent.

_________________
GY6 Honda Ruckus Build


Top
 Profile  
 

Junior Mint
Junior Mint

Years on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TR

Posts: 84
Gender: Dude
Offline
 Post subject: Re: Hubs , GY6 , fATTY setup
PostPosted: Sun Apr 17, 2011 7:47 pm 
Hey Dorby, my buddy texted you about one of the hubs we bought wobbling. Heres the vid (be sure to expand to see wobble):



It kinda seems like it was milled crooked? Can we send this one back and exchange for another? Do you have any ready to ship? Please post here, PM, or text my buddy back. Thanks.

_________________
What can BROWN do for you??: viewtopic.php?f=92&t=55902 SOLD :(
New Ruckus acquired, build thread HERE! :)


Top
 Profile  
 

Ride Game Participant
Ride Game Participant
User avatar
Years on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TR

Posts: 5246
Location: Central FL
Gender: Dude

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Hubs , GY6 , fATTY setup
PostPosted: Mon Apr 18, 2011 4:26 am 
First, make sure the wheel is mounted perfectly flush onto the hub
Second, what kind of wheel is he using?
Third, take the wheel off the hub and start the engine and watch for wobble from the actual hub

I say all this because my hub was a snug fit on the inner bore of my wheel, also if your buddy is running a steel type wheel, I'm pretty certain it isn't perfectly round and lastly try sping JUST the hub, be certain is isn't something else causing the wobble

Good luck!

_________________
OFFICIAL PC Crazzies Street Team Member

Elite SR50 slammed with GET Powurr <CLICKY
That new new '13 Metropolitan <CLICKY


Top
 Profile  
 

Junior Mint
Junior Mint

Years on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TR

Posts: 84
Gender: Dude
Offline
 Post subject: Re: Hubs , GY6 , fATTY setup
PostPosted: Mon Apr 18, 2011 6:00 am 
Strokd_GE wrote:
First, make sure the wheel is mounted perfectly flush onto the hub
Second, what kind of wheel is he using?
Third, take the wheel off the hub and start the engine and watch for wobble from the actual hub

I say all this because my hub was a snug fit on the inner bore of my wheel, also if your buddy is running a steel type wheel, I'm pretty certain it isn't perfectly round and lastly try sping JUST the hub, be certain is isn't something else causing the wobble

Good luck!


Thanks for the suggestions! I smoothed out the inside of the wheel so it is a proper fit now instead of a tight fit -- no luck, still wobbles. I pulled the wheel off and spun the hub and it looks to be wobbling, but its hard to tell because it is smaller than the wheel. I took the hub off and spun the axle itself and that appeared to be straight from what I could tell.

I will swap with my friends hub/wheel combo tonight or tomorrow and see if his wobbles on my setup. This will assure my axle is straight. Then I will try my wheel on his hub. If no wobbles, the only thing left in question is my hub.

Btw, we're both running dorby hubs and the same spun aluminum 10x8 wheels (purchased in a set).

_________________
What can BROWN do for you??: viewtopic.php?f=92&t=55902 SOLD :(
New Ruckus acquired, build thread HERE! :)


Top
 Profile  
 

Ride Game Participant
Ride Game Participant
User avatar
Years on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TR

Posts: 5246
Location: Central FL
Gender: Dude

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Hubs , GY6 , fATTY setup
PostPosted: Mon Apr 18, 2011 7:33 am 
Hold a screw driver snug against the swing arm area and point the tip to a location on the hub to check how true it is

also compare the lug/bolt hole spacing.. The actual holes might be off center causing the wobble in the wheel

_________________
OFFICIAL PC Crazzies Street Team Member

Elite SR50 slammed with GET Powurr <CLICKY
That new new '13 Metropolitan <CLICKY


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 72 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Check out who is online and not out riding.

Rucksters browsing this forum: No rucksters and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
 
Copyright Owners: click here to report copyright infringement

TotalRuckus.com 2005 - 2011 - All Rights Reserved --- Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group