Our motto says it all: "We would like to ride in zoomer which is not easily defeated by anyone."

Members Rides Members Rides   TR Ride of the Month TR ROTM   * Ride Utility   Scoot TV Scoot TV   Support TR buy a shirt! TR Store * Login * Register
* FAQ 
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 41 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message

Junior Mint
Junior Mint
User avatar
Years on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TR

Posts: 227
Location: Saint Louis
Gender: Dude
Offline
 Post subject: State by state scooter laws
PostPosted: Wed Mar 02, 2011 9:39 am 
Trying to figure out what states have what laws for scooting
Here in Missouri you do not have to have a plate(register) when it's under 50ccs no helmet(dumb) and just a valid drivers license( no motorcycle)
I know Il and KS you need plates, what are the laws in the other states?

MO: No plate/helmet op/ drivers license
KS : plated
IL : plated

_________________
THR1LL R1D3Z
http://totalruckus.com/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=94&t=16242


Top
 Profile  
 

48hrs of Ruckus Official Judge
48hrs of Ruckus Official Judge
User avatar
Years on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TR

Posts: 1359
Location: 'Burque, NM, EEUU
Gender: Dude
Offline
 Post subject: Re: State by state scooter laws
PostPosted: Wed Mar 02, 2011 9:59 am 
New Mexico: Plates/registration/insurance required if 50cc and over or capable of more than 30mph; must have at least a regular driver's license* if <50cc/30mph; specific motorcycle endorsement required if >50cc/30mph.


*those too young for a regular DL, as young as 13 years old, can get a special moped/small cc motorcycle-only license.

_________________
Ride Thread


Top
 Profile  
 

Ride Game Participant
Ride Game Participant
User avatar
Years on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TR

Posts: 283
Location: Kansas City, MO
Gender: Dude
The way it should be
Offline
 Post subject: Re: State by state scooter laws
PostPosted: Wed Mar 02, 2011 11:30 am 
THR1LL3R wrote:
Trying to figure out what states have what laws for scooting
Here in Missouri you do not have to have a plate(register) when it's under 50ccs no helmet(dumb) and just a valid drivers license( no motorcycle)
I know Il and KS you need plates, what are the laws in the other states?

MO: No plate/helmet op/ drivers license
KS : plated
IL : plated

...

Maybe in St. Louis.
Kansas City you need plates, helmets, insurance, and an M.


Top
 Profile  
 

48hrs of Ruckus Official Judge
48hrs of Ruckus Official Judge
User avatar
Years on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TR

Posts: 1359
Location: 'Burque, NM, EEUU
Gender: Dude
Offline
 Post subject: Re: State by state scooter laws
PostPosted: Wed Mar 02, 2011 12:56 pm 
ArrhythmiA wrote:
THR1LL3R wrote:
Trying to figure out what states have what laws for scooting
Here in Missouri you do not have to have a plate(register) when it's under 50ccs no helmet(dumb) and just a valid drivers license( no motorcycle)
I know Il and KS you need plates, what are the laws in the other states?

MO: No plate/helmet op/ drivers license
KS : plated
IL : plated

...

Maybe in St. Louis.
Kansas City you need plates, helmets, insurance, and an M.


How about we do something usually missing from the internet and actually cite our sources so the list is reliable?

For New Mexico I used the New Mexico Motor Vehicle Code 66-1-4-11. (2007) which can be found online at: http://transportation.unm.edu/pubs/NMMVLaws8x11.pdf

_________________
Ride Thread


Top
 Profile  
 

Ride Game Participant
Ride Game Participant
User avatar
Years on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TR

Posts: 283
Location: Kansas City, MO
Gender: Dude
The way it should be
Offline
 Post subject: Re: State by state scooter laws
PostPosted: Wed Mar 02, 2011 1:27 pm 
nuevomexicano wrote:
How about we do something usually missing from the internet and actually cite our sources so the list is reliable?

For New Mexico I used the New Mexico Motor Vehicle Code 66-1-4-11. (2007) which can be found online at: http://transportation.unm.edu/pubs/NMMVLaws8x11.pdf


http://dor.mo.gov/faq/motorv/general.php#q12

What are the titling and registration requirements for motor scooters or mopeds (under 50cc)?
Titling and registration for a scooter or moped depends on whether the vehicle meets the definition of a motorized bicycle. The Missouri statute definition of a motorized bicycle is as follows:

"Any two-wheeled or three-wheeled device having an automatic transmission and a motor with a cylinder capacity of not more than fifty (50) cubic centimeters, which produces less than three (3) gross brake horsepower, and is capable of propelling the device at a maximum speed of not more than thirty (30) miles per hour on level ground." A motorized bicycle does not have to be registered with the Missouri Department of Revenue. However, you must have a valid driver license to operate a motorized bicycle (though no motorcycle endorsement is required).

Missouri statute does not require a helmet to be worn when operating a motorized bicycle. Please contact your local law enforcement agencies for any county/municipal codes that deal with helmets and motorized bicycles.

Keep in mind that no motorized bicycle may be operated on any public thoroughfare located within this state that has been designated as part of the federal interstate highway system.


Top
 Profile  
 

Shot Caller
Shot Caller
User avatar
Years on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TR

Posts: 1604
Location: SGV n OC
Gender: Dude

Offline
 Post subject: Re: State by state scooter laws
PostPosted: Wed Mar 02, 2011 1:28 pm 
CA Law:

Motorcycles
A motorcycle: Has a seat or saddle for the rider and is designed to travel on not more than three wheels.

Motor-Driven Cycles
A motor-driven cycle is: A motorcycle with a 149 cc or less engine size.
NOTE: You may not operate a motor-driven cycle on a freeway if signs are posted to prohibit motor-driven cycle operation.

Motorized Bicycles
There are two definitions of motorized bicycle (moped). A motorized bicycle is: A two- or three-wheeled device, capable of no more than 30mph on level ground, and equipped with:
Fully operative pedals for human propulsion.
A motor producing less than two gross brake horsepower and an automatic transmission.
An electric motor, with or without pedals for human propulsion.
A vehicle with pedals and an electric motor (not more than 1,000 watts) which cannot be driven at speeds of more than 20 mph on level ground even if assisted by human power.
If you operate a motorized bicycle which meets the definition of CVC §406b, you:
Must be 16 years of age or older.
Must wear a properly fitted and fastened bicycle helmet.
Are exempt from the motor vehicle financial responsibility, driver license, and moped plate requirements. (CVC §12804.9)
You may ride a moped in a bicycle lane at a reasonable speed. Becareful of bicyclists using the lane.

Motorized Scooter
A motorized scooter is defined as any two-wheeled “device” with:
A motor, handlebars, and a floorboard for standing on when riding, and
The options of having:
A driver seat which cannot interfere with the operator’s ability to stand and ride.
The ability to be powered by human propulsion.
NOTE: A motorized scooter may be driven with any class driver license. A motorized scooter may not be used to take a Class M1 or M2 skills test.
The motorized scooter’s exhaust system must not be modified or altered.



California issues the following license classes for two-wheel vehicle operation:
Class M1—You may operate any two-wheel motorcycle, motor-driven cycle, or motorized scooter and all vehicles listed under Class M2.
Class M2—You may operate any motorized bicycle, moped, or a bicycle with an attached motor, or a motorized scooter.
You may obtain a Class M1 or M2 license at any DMV office which provides driver license services. Motorcycle law tests and skill tests are required.

NOTE: Class C licensees may operate a motorcycle with a side car attached or a three-wheel motorcycle.


SOOOO this means:
CA Law is: you need Plates, Insurance, and M1 for motorcycles and motor-driven cycles (the Ruckus is in this classification according to everything stated above)
anything else- mopeds and motorized bicycles you don't need plates or insurance, but you DO need M2 or M1 licensing..
and for trikes and sidecars- no special licensing, but need plates and insurance..
motorized scooters are the only vehicle you are allowed to ride without a licence, insurance, or plates.



if i'm wrong.. feel free to correct! but i think it's all summed up..

_________________
DOUCHE #3; asshole extraordinaire. certified LEAN specialist.
Ęžiller scooter - where we Ęžill-her-cooter.
Image
zeekusssss


Top
 Profile  
 

Dirty Sanchez
Dirty Sanchez
User avatar
Years on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TR

Posts: 2303
Location: CALIFORNIA BAY AREA
Gender: Dude

Offline
 Post subject: Re: State by state scooter laws
PostPosted: Wed Mar 02, 2011 2:19 pm 
When I went for my M they only wanted to issue me a M2 because its a scooter with floorboard but I fought with them long and hard letting me walk out with a M1

_________________
CLICK HERE FOR GY6 PERFORMANCE EXHAUST VER.1

CLICK HERE FOR GY6 SHOTGUN PERFORMANCE EXHAUST VER.2

CLICK FOR MY BUILD THREAD


Top
 Profile  
 

Junior Mint
Junior Mint
User avatar
Years on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TR

Posts: 227
Location: Saint Louis
Gender: Dude
Offline
 Post subject: Re: State by state scooter laws
PostPosted: Wed Mar 02, 2011 7:12 pm 
ArrhythmiA wrote:
THR1LL3R wrote:
Trying to figure out what states have what laws for scooting
Here in Missouri you do not have to have a plate(register) when it's under 50ccs no helmet(dumb) and just a valid drivers license( no motorcycle)
I know Il and KS you need plates, what are the laws in the other states?

MO: No plate/helmet op/ drivers license
KS : plated
IL : plated

...

Maybe in St. Louis.
Kansas City you need plates, helmets, insurance, and an M.


Wow,I was told at the DMV that ALL mo was like that,unbelievable.... :wasted:

_________________
THR1LL R1D3Z
http://totalruckus.com/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=94&t=16242


Top
 Profile  
 

Donkey Puncher
Donkey Puncher
User avatar
Years on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TR

Posts: 5777
Location: So ILL 62285
Gender: Dude
Garage mechanic
Offline
 Post subject: Re: State by state scooter laws
PostPosted: Wed Mar 02, 2011 7:24 pm 
http://www.iihs.org/laws/HelmetUseCurrent.aspx

_________________
Chucks Big Ruckus

Morphesty 400cc


Top
 Profile  
 

Ride Game Participant
Ride Game Participant
User avatar
Years on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TR

Posts: 283
Location: Kansas City, MO
Gender: Dude
The way it should be
Offline
 Post subject: Re: State by state scooter laws
PostPosted: Wed Mar 02, 2011 11:17 pm 
chucktuna wrote:
http://www.iihs.org/laws/HelmetUseCurrent.aspx

That sums it up, good find.


Top
 Profile  
 

Junior Mint
Junior Mint

Years on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TR

Posts: 129
Location: mass
Gender: Dude
Offline
 Post subject: Re: State by state scooter laws
PostPosted: Thu Mar 03, 2011 4:51 am 
in Massachusetts anything under 50cc
-no insurance, plates, or special license needed.
-have to have at least a learners permit or drivers license
-must wear a helmet
-cannot exceed 25mph
-stay to the right hand side of the road
-$40 for two year registration sticker, no inspection sticker required.

_________________
viewtopic.php?f=92&t=54651
Met Build Thread


Top
 Profile  
 

Needs Training Wheels
Needs Training Wheels

Years on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TR

Posts: 47
Location: Ohio...5min from WV...15min from KY
Gender: Dude
Offline
 Post subject: Re: State by state scooter laws
PostPosted: Thu Mar 03, 2011 3:46 pm 
in wv and ohio anything motorized on the road you have to have license, registration and insurance.....really sucks

_________________
1986 Red Spree

2009 Red Ruckus


Top
 Profile  
 

Needs Training Wheels
Needs Training Wheels

Years on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TR

Posts: 49
Gender: Dude
Offline
 Post subject: Re: State by state scooter laws
PostPosted: Thu Mar 03, 2011 4:25 pm 
86spree wrote:
in wv and ohio anything motorized on the road you have to have license, registration and insurance.....really sucks

I do not have the source (I will find it) but in ohio, you need at least a moped license (must be at least 14 to obtain) and a plate. You do not need insurance.


Top
 Profile  
 

Junior Mint
Junior Mint

Years on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TR

Posts: 106
Gender: Dude
Offline
 Post subject: Re: State by state scooter laws
PostPosted: Fri Mar 04, 2011 8:03 am 
NC LAW:

You must be age 16 or older to operate a moped on North Carolina highways or public vehicular areas. A driver license is not required, and the moped does not have to be registered, inspected or covered by liability insurance. A motorcycle safety helmet is required by law when operating a moped on North Carolina highways. A moped cannot have a motor of more than 50 cubic centimeters, an external shifting device or have the capability of exceeding 30 miles per hour on a level surface.

http://www.ncdot.org/dmv/vehicle_services/registrationtitling/vehiclesneedtoregister.html#Register%20Mopeds


Most of the Police around here don't bother scooter riders... Even when we are keeping with the flow of traffic over 30mph...


Top
 Profile  
 

n00bie


Years on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TR

Posts: 5
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Gender: Dude
Offline
 Post subject: Re: State by state scooter laws
PostPosted: Sun Mar 06, 2011 8:06 pm 
in ohio everyhting is considered a motorcycle regardless of size and top speed. you need plates, motorcycle license, helmet for first year riders, and insurance.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 41 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Check out who is online and not out riding.

Rucksters browsing this forum: No rucksters and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Jump to:  
 
Copyright Owners: click here to report copyright infringement

Technophobes: click here if you are having issues registering or logging in

TotalRuckus.com 2005-2015 (That’s 10 F’ing years!) - All Rights Reserved --- Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group