TotalRuckus
http://totalruckus.com/phpBB3/

Hubs , GY6 , fATTY setup
http://totalruckus.com/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=205&t=52843
Page 3 of 5

Author:  dorby [ Wed Mar 09, 2011 9:58 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Hubs , GY6 , fATTY setup

nagoner1 wrote:
Does this hub and wheel set up work with the GY6 kit that Ruckstes sell for $1280?
Im new to this ruckus scene so this might be a stupid question. I dont care...just trying to get a fatty...lol

which kit are you referring to ? please pm me for details. thank you

Author:  twentysix [ Wed Mar 09, 2011 10:01 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Hubs , GY6 , fATTY setup

nagoner1 wrote:
Does this hub and wheel set up work with the GY6 kit that Ruckstes sell for $1280?
Im new to this ruckus scene so this might be a stupid question. I dont care...just trying to get a fatty...lol


not sure which kit you're talking about, but to use this hub and wheel setup you'll need to offset your engine on the bike in order to center the fatty tire. a lot of the bolt on engine mounts experience some flex and warping when you offset the engine as much as is required for this wheel. i hear that most people that offset this much, use weld on mounts.

Author:  nagoner1 [ Thu Mar 10, 2011 3:42 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Hubs , GY6 , fATTY setup

^^^^^Thanks....I kind of figured that but I had high hopes...lol

Author:  AZruckuspride [ Fri Mar 11, 2011 1:55 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Hubs , GY6 , fATTY setup

What is the spline count on the Hub?

Author:  msp6 tbot [ Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:29 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Hubs , GY6 , fATTY setup

AZruckuspride wrote:
What is the spline count on the Hub?


Its for the stock gy6 axle, which is a 19 spline shaft.

Sorry for answering for u Dorby, not trying to step on toes.

Author:  dorby [ Sun Mar 20, 2011 8:58 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Hubs , GY6 , fATTY setup

msp6 tbot wrote:
AZruckuspride wrote:
What is the spline count on the Hub?


Its for the stock gy6 axle, which is a 19 spline shaft.

Sorry for answering for u Dorby, not trying to step on toes.

^ thanks for posting info.
i didnt see the question.

No worries i dont get sandy. im happy to give out info to anyone in need.

Author:  AZruckuspride [ Sun Mar 20, 2011 10:53 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Hubs , GY6 , fATTY setup

Thanks, my GY6 has a weird 20 spline axle.

Author:  msp6 tbot [ Fri Mar 25, 2011 12:24 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Hubs , GY6 , fATTY setup

Weird ..sounds like its time to swap to a Shorty axle with the right spline count

Sent from my HTC Glacier using Tapatalk

Author:  litovi3tboi503 [ Mon Mar 28, 2011 9:07 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Hubs , GY6 , fATTY setup

will it work long or short axles? And with this set up?
The 150cc
viewtopic.php?f=136&t=40372
and Composimo Mount Kit?

Thanks

Author:  litovi3tboi503 [ Fri Apr 01, 2011 1:02 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Hubs , GY6 , fATTY setup

Payment sent!

Thanks!

Author:  pan325 [ Fri Apr 08, 2011 7:10 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Hubs , GY6 , fATTY setup

Thanks dorby for the quick reply. Payment sent.

Author:  cscm094 [ Sun Apr 17, 2011 7:47 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Hubs , GY6 , fATTY setup

Hey Dorby, my buddy texted you about one of the hubs we bought wobbling. Heres the vid (be sure to expand to see wobble):



It kinda seems like it was milled crooked? Can we send this one back and exchange for another? Do you have any ready to ship? Please post here, PM, or text my buddy back. Thanks.

Author:  Strokd_GE [ Mon Apr 18, 2011 4:26 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Hubs , GY6 , fATTY setup

First, make sure the wheel is mounted perfectly flush onto the hub
Second, what kind of wheel is he using?
Third, take the wheel off the hub and start the engine and watch for wobble from the actual hub

I say all this because my hub was a snug fit on the inner bore of my wheel, also if your buddy is running a steel type wheel, I'm pretty certain it isn't perfectly round and lastly try sping JUST the hub, be certain is isn't something else causing the wobble

Good luck!

Author:  cscm094 [ Mon Apr 18, 2011 6:00 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Hubs , GY6 , fATTY setup

Strokd_GE wrote:
First, make sure the wheel is mounted perfectly flush onto the hub
Second, what kind of wheel is he using?
Third, take the wheel off the hub and start the engine and watch for wobble from the actual hub

I say all this because my hub was a snug fit on the inner bore of my wheel, also if your buddy is running a steel type wheel, I'm pretty certain it isn't perfectly round and lastly try sping JUST the hub, be certain is isn't something else causing the wobble

Good luck!


Thanks for the suggestions! I smoothed out the inside of the wheel so it is a proper fit now instead of a tight fit -- no luck, still wobbles. I pulled the wheel off and spun the hub and it looks to be wobbling, but its hard to tell because it is smaller than the wheel. I took the hub off and spun the axle itself and that appeared to be straight from what I could tell.

I will swap with my friends hub/wheel combo tonight or tomorrow and see if his wobbles on my setup. This will assure my axle is straight. Then I will try my wheel on his hub. If no wobbles, the only thing left in question is my hub.

Btw, we're both running dorby hubs and the same spun aluminum 10x8 wheels (purchased in a set).

Author:  Strokd_GE [ Mon Apr 18, 2011 7:33 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Hubs , GY6 , fATTY setup

Hold a screw driver snug against the swing arm area and point the tip to a location on the hub to check how true it is

also compare the lug/bolt hole spacing.. The actual holes might be off center causing the wobble in the wheel

Page 3 of 5 All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/