Our motto says it all: "We would like to ride in zoomer which is not easily defeated by anyone."

Members Rides Members Rides   TR Ride of the Month TR ROTM   * Ride Utility   Scoot TV Scoot TV   Support TR buy a shirt! TR Store * Login * Register
* FAQ 
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 74 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
Author Message

n00bie

User avatar
Years on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TR

Posts: 5
Location: hartwell GA
Gender: Dude

Offline
 Post subject: Re: GY6 Swap harness onto Stock controls
PostPosted: Thu Jan 20, 2011 7:19 pm 
:banger: thanks for the idea i got my engine today and i hope everything works out find


Top
 Profile  
 

Official Ride Game Judge!
Official Ride Game Judge!
User avatar
Years on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TR

Posts: 2825
Location: Otown fl
Gender: Dude

Offline
 Post subject: Re: GY6 Swap harness onto Stock controls
PostPosted: Fri Mar 04, 2011 10:26 am 
TT-350z wrote:
i have been asked this WAYYYYYYYY too many times before
so i went ahead and drew this diagram to simplify things
the colors for the gy6 seem to be the most common, yours may vary
this uses 2 SPDT relays, not the 1 radio shack relay
i have found these SPDT 12v 30-40amp relays for as cheap as $3 each
EDIT, THEY ARE EVEN CHEAPER HERE
http://www.amazon.com/VDC-Automotive-Re ... B0002KR9GG

with this setup your kill switch WILL WORK NORMAL, NOT BACKWARDS!!!!!!!!

Image



question....what if you don't plan on using the kill switch? just something similar to the Magic Button for starting. i have never used my kill switch...not of the ruck or any of my big bikes.

how should it get wired then? do i just omit the kill switch wires?

_________________
the incredibly slow and cheap build: viewtopic.php?f=92&t=52401

the incredibly slow restoration build: viewtopic.php?f=92&t=56496


Top
 Profile  
 

★TR★Addict★
★TR★Addict★
User avatar
Years on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TR

Posts: 9092
Location: Frisco TX
Gender: Dude
The way it should be
Offline
 Post subject: Re: GY6 Swap harness onto Stock controls
PostPosted: Fri Mar 04, 2011 10:29 am 
yes just run that 2nd blue line in the pic to 85 on the bottom relay
very easy to omit the kill switch

basically the red/blue from the ignition to both 85's

_________________
MY OLD 40K MILE RUCK
MY JANKY NEW BUILD


Top
 Profile  
 

Official Ride Game Judge!
Official Ride Game Judge!
User avatar
Years on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TR

Posts: 2825
Location: Otown fl
Gender: Dude

Offline
 Post subject: Re: GY6 Swap harness onto Stock controls
PostPosted: Fri Mar 04, 2011 10:40 am 
TT-350z wrote:
yes just run that 2nd blue line in the pic to 85 on the bottom relay
very easy to omit the kill switch

basically the red/blue from the ignition to both 85's

you rule brother! mucho grassy ass! :banger:

_________________
the incredibly slow and cheap build: viewtopic.php?f=92&t=52401

the incredibly slow restoration build: viewtopic.php?f=92&t=56496


Top
 Profile  
 

★TR★Addict★
★TR★Addict★
User avatar
Years on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TR

Posts: 9092
Location: Frisco TX
Gender: Dude
The way it should be
Offline
 Post subject: Re: GY6 Swap harness onto Stock controls
PostPosted: Fri Mar 04, 2011 10:45 am 
no prob, pm me if u need any more help

_________________
MY OLD 40K MILE RUCK
MY JANKY NEW BUILD


Top
 Profile  
 

Official Ride Game Judge!
Official Ride Game Judge!
User avatar
Years on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TR

Posts: 2825
Location: Otown fl
Gender: Dude

Offline
 Post subject: Re: GY6 Swap harness onto Stock controls
PostPosted: Sat Mar 05, 2011 8:24 am 
daddysmut wrote:
TT-350z wrote:

Image



question....what if you don't plan on using the kill switch? just something similar to the Magic Button for starting. i have never used my kill switch...not of the ruck or any of my big bikes.

how should it get wired then? do i just omit the kill switch wires?



ok so i worked on the wiring last night in hopes of having the scoot ready for the daytona ride today but NO LUCK :pissed:

i wired it just like this and adjusted:
Quote:
yes just run that 2nd blue line in the pic to 85 on the bottom relay
very easy to omit the kill switch

basically the red/blue from the ignition to both 85's


please not i'm not using a right control.....only a start button and a complete GY6 harness

here's what i noticed....i didn't have a black and white wire heading to the lower 87a so i traced the PINK wire back into the harness and found it was spliced into the b/w one...GOOD. i wired it up like you suggested and was able to get power to the harness (check output wires like tail light and such). went ahead and tried to start it but the starter solenoid wasn't getting any juice. looking closer i don't thing it was wired to the ignition. i had wired my starter wires into the relay. i removed them from the relay and hooked them up the yellow/red and black/white wires in the plug going into the gy6 right control and got the motor to turn over. GREAT!!!

now i'm not getting any spark. :x i swapped coils, CDI's with spares that i had and double checked the wiring in all that. i'm convinced it's in the wiring up front around these relays. maybe i need to bypass the kill switch....?????

_________________
the incredibly slow and cheap build: viewtopic.php?f=92&t=52401

the incredibly slow restoration build: viewtopic.php?f=92&t=56496


Top
 Profile  
 

★TR★Addict★
★TR★Addict★
User avatar
Years on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TR

Posts: 9092
Location: Frisco TX
Gender: Dude
The way it should be
Offline
 Post subject: Re: GY6 Swap harness onto Stock controls
PostPosted: Sat Mar 05, 2011 8:32 am 
the bottom relay in the pic is strictly there to kill the engine, all power goes thru the top one


sounds to me like u hooked up the start button wrong
any black/white in that harness should be for kill, not starting

_________________
MY OLD 40K MILE RUCK
MY JANKY NEW BUILD


Top
 Profile  
 

Official Ride Game Judge!
Official Ride Game Judge!
User avatar
Years on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TR

Posts: 2825
Location: Otown fl
Gender: Dude

Offline
 Post subject: Re: GY6 Swap harness onto Stock controls
PostPosted: Sat Mar 05, 2011 9:15 am 
TT-350z wrote:
the bottom relay in the pic is strictly there to kill the engine, all power goes thru the top one


sounds to me like u hooked up the start button wrong
any black/white in that harness should be for kill, not starting

wanna come over and help me? :mrgreen:

i hooked up the gy6 right control (which has the kill switch and is plug and play) and same results. i'm so confused right now

_________________
the incredibly slow and cheap build: viewtopic.php?f=92&t=52401

the incredibly slow restoration build: viewtopic.php?f=92&t=56496


Top
 Profile  
 

★TR★Addict★
★TR★Addict★
User avatar
Years on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TR

Posts: 9092
Location: Frisco TX
Gender: Dude
The way it should be
Offline
 Post subject: Re: GY6 Swap harness onto Stock controls
PostPosted: Sat Mar 05, 2011 9:16 am 
lol u can bring it here

_________________
MY OLD 40K MILE RUCK
MY JANKY NEW BUILD


Top
 Profile  
 

Habitual Offender
Habitual Offender
User avatar
Years on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TR

Posts: 481
Location: Columbia, SC
Gender: Dude

Offline
 Post subject: Re: GY6 Swap harness onto Stock controls
PostPosted: Wed Aug 31, 2011 8:59 pm 
I'm in the process of revamping my handlebar and controls right now. I'll post pictures after I get mines up and running. But I am also on the killswitch issue, trying to bypass this thing.

_________________
I like cookies
My Ride


Top
 Profile  
 

Habitual Offender
Habitual Offender
User avatar
Years on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TR

Posts: 481
Location: Columbia, SC
Gender: Dude

Offline
 Post subject: Re: GY6 Swap harness onto Stock controls
PostPosted: Wed Sep 14, 2011 10:59 am 
Got my wiring done recently and found a super easy way to bypass my killswitch. I just wired the two wires to each other and thats it! I have the ATR harness and the plug where the killswitch wires normally go, I just used a U-wire and plugged it in place.

_________________
I like cookies
My Ride


Top
 Profile  
 

Photo of the Week
Photo of the Week
User avatar
Years on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TR

Posts: 4101
Location: Oregon
Gender: Dude
The way it should be
Offline
 Post subject: Re: GY6 Swap harness onto Stock controls
PostPosted: Wed Sep 14, 2011 11:29 am 
thank you

_________________
my ruckus build page http://tinyurl.com/c8spsgz My vouchers: http://tinyurl.com/cpkd7ag
Stuff i sell http://www.diyruckus.com


Top
 Profile  
 

Needs Training Wheels
Needs Training Wheels
User avatar
Years on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TR

Posts: 23
Gender: Dude

Offline
 Post subject: Re: GY6 Swap harness onto Stock controls
PostPosted: Wed Sep 28, 2011 8:58 pm 
Thanks man Great write up!


Top
 Profile  
 

Junior Mint
Junior Mint

Years on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TR

Posts: 147
Location: Englewood Place, TX
Gender: Dude

Offline
 Post subject: Re: GY6 Swap harness onto Stock controls
PostPosted: Thu Oct 13, 2011 5:27 am 
So I have a question, does anyone else have the issue with when the swap the gy6 in to their ruckus the key doesn't kill the bike? I can start my bike with the key in the off position. I'm going to do this so the kill switch works right, but any advice on the key issue?

Thanks everyone.

_________________
My Build.

viewtopic.php?f=92&t=60955


Top
 Profile  
 

Junior Mint
Junior Mint

Years on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TR

Posts: 147
Location: Englewood Place, TX
Gender: Dude

Offline
 Post subject: Re: GY6 Swap harness onto Stock controls
PostPosted: Thu Oct 13, 2011 1:05 pm 
daddysmut wrote:
TT-350z wrote:
i have been asked this WAYYYYYYYY too many times before
so i went ahead and drew this diagram to simplify things
the colors for the gy6 seem to be the most common, yours may vary
this uses 2 SPDT relays, not the 1 radio shack relay
i have found these SPDT 12v 30-40amp relays for as cheap as $3 each
EDIT, THEY ARE EVEN CHEAPER HERE
http://www.amazon.com/VDC-Automotive-Re ... B0002KR9GG

with this setup your kill switch WILL WORK NORMAL, NOT BACKWARDS!!!!!!!!

Image



question....what if you don't plan on using the kill switch? just something similar to the Magic Button for starting. i have never used my kill switch...not of the ruck or any of my big bikes.

how should it get wired then? do i just omit the kill switch wires?



can't you just do it with one 5pin relay?

_________________
My Build.

viewtopic.php?f=92&t=60955


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 74 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Check out who is online and not out riding.

Rucksters browsing this forum: No rucksters and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Jump to:  
 
Copyright Owners: click here to report copyright infringement

Technophobes: click here if you are having issues registering or logging in

TotalRuckus.com 2005-2015 (That’s 10 F’ing years!) - All Rights Reserved --- Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group