Our motto says it all: "We would like to ride in zoomer which is not easily defeated by anyone."

Members Rides Members Rides   TR Ride of the Month TR ROTM   * Ride Utility   Scoot TV Scoot TV   Support TR buy a shirt! TR Store * Login * Register
* FAQ 
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 74 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
Author Message

Needs Training Wheels
Needs Training Wheels

Years on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TR

Posts: 13
Gender: Dude
Offline
 Post subject: Re: GY6 Swap harness onto Stock controls
PostPosted: Sat Jun 26, 2010 6:00 pm 
I have decided to GY6 swap my ruck. I have followed everything so far but when it came to wiring up the ignition when i pull the brake lever it cranks over and the start button doesn't do anything. I realize I have some wires crossed somewhere. Im just having a hard time figuring it out. Any help would be great.


Top
 Profile  
 

Needs Training Wheels
Needs Training Wheels
User avatar
Years on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TR

Posts: 38
Location: KISSIMMEE, FLORIDA
Gender: Dude

Offline
 Post subject: Re: GY6 Swap harness onto Stock controls
PostPosted: Fri Jul 23, 2010 6:36 pm 
I'm sorry guys wiring is not my field, I can fabricate or come up with some crazy idea and build it, put it together or what ever but when it come to wiring I suck. I am thinking of going with the plug and play harness. Does anyone know anyone who done this, and what was there input on it? Is it really plug and play? thanks :kamiscoot

_________________
BIG D.


Top
 Profile  
 

Junior Mint
Junior Mint

Years on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TR

Posts: 64
Location: Manitoba,Canada
Gender: Dude

Offline
 Post subject: Re: GY6 Swap harness onto Stock controls
PostPosted: Fri Aug 13, 2010 8:59 am 
This relay is not available to me locally, have tried several auto elec. retailers and I can't get it, radioshack is now "the source" in Canada and aside from grossly overpriced B grade electronics is useless as a source. Are there any other relays that I could substitute for this one or any combination that would let me follow this procedure?


Top
 Profile  
 

Troll
Troll
User avatar
Years on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TR

Posts: 2284
Location: San Mateo, Cali
Gender: Dude

Offline
 Post subject: Re: GY6 Swap harness onto Stock controls
PostPosted: Fri Aug 13, 2010 5:10 pm 
bertboy69 wrote:
This relay is not available to me locally, have tried several auto elec. retailers and I can't get it, radioshack is now "the source" in Canada and aside from grossly overpriced B grade electronics is useless as a source. Are there any other relays that I could substitute for this one or any combination that would let me follow this procedure?

I've seen guys just use the ignition switch from the donor.. mounting is the issue.
I would just order the Radio Shack one. I've done 3 swaps with this and it works TITS.

_________________
The El Ruckuso Custom Forward Peg Mounts

The El Ruckuso
Project: MANIMAL


Top
 Profile  
 

Junior Mint
Junior Mint

Years on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TR

Posts: 64
Location: Manitoba,Canada
Gender: Dude

Offline
 Post subject: Re: GY6 Swap harness onto Stock controls
PostPosted: Fri Aug 13, 2010 6:07 pm 
Found a local source, an electrical wholesaler, mainly dealing in heavy commercial & residential electrical.


Top
 Profile  
 

★TR★Addict★
★TR★Addict★
User avatar
Years on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TR

Posts: 9092
Location: Frisco TX
Gender: Dude
The way it should be
Offline
 Post subject: Re: GY6 Swap harness onto Stock controls
PostPosted: Fri Aug 13, 2010 7:05 pm 
the radio shack relay is just a DPDT relay, i believe its only rated for 20 amps or less also, nor is it auto grade
any DPDT relay will work
or 2 SPDT relays, single pole double throw

personally i use 2 SPTD automotive grade relays rated for 30-40 amps

like this
Image

_________________
MY OLD 40K MILE RUCK
MY JANKY NEW BUILD


Last edited by TT-350z on Wed Aug 25, 2010 7:30 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 

★TR★Addict★
★TR★Addict★
User avatar
Years on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TR

Posts: 9092
Location: Frisco TX
Gender: Dude
The way it should be
Offline
 Post subject: Re: GY6 Swap harness onto Stock controls
PostPosted: Fri Aug 13, 2010 8:15 pm 
i have been asked this WAYYYYYYYY too many times before
so i went ahead and drew this diagram to simplify things
the colors for the gy6 seem to be the most common, yours may vary
this uses 2 SPDT relays, not the 1 radio shack relay
i have found these SPDT 12v 30-40amp relays for as cheap as $3 each
EDIT, THEY ARE EVEN CHEAPER HERE
http://www.amazon.com/VDC-Automotive-Re ... B0002KR9GG

with this setup your kill switch WILL WORK NORMAL, NOT BACKWARDS!!!!!!!!

Image

_________________
MY OLD 40K MILE RUCK
MY JANKY NEW BUILD


Last edited by TT-350z on Wed Aug 25, 2010 7:31 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 

Junior Mint
Junior Mint

Years on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TR

Posts: 64
Location: Manitoba,Canada
Gender: Dude

Offline
 Post subject: Re: GY6 Swap harness onto Stock controls
PostPosted: Sat Aug 14, 2010 9:02 am 
That's funny I have that exact relay in front of me as well as the dpdt relay. Too bad I'm out of my element with this wiring maybe I could have figured it out and bought 2.


Top
 Profile  
 

Junior Mint
Junior Mint

Years on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TR

Posts: 64
Location: Manitoba,Canada
Gender: Dude

Offline
 Post subject: Re: GY6 Swap harness onto Stock controls
PostPosted: Sat Aug 14, 2010 10:10 am 
I have the main and the control harnesses cost me about $100 to get them here, I have since cut all the connectors off the main, not even using the other and am basically making my own harness which I could have done with 40' of 16 awg wire and some butt connectors. Aside from the cdi/rectifier, colors are useless to me now, I need functions of wires to know where to run them. Image
For some clarity is this right? also note my ignorance on the black/red wire pin 6.

1. BLACK > Rectifier Black.
2. RED > Rectifier Red (is fused to + batt)
3. B/W > CDI/ignition B/W
4. Gr > Ground
5. B/W > CDI kill B/W
6. BlACK/RED > ? ? ( I have no Black/Red) only fr stator to cdi.
7. RED/BLUE > key/ignition RED/BLUE
8. RED/GREEN > key/ignition RED/Green


Top
 Profile  
 

Junior Mint
Junior Mint

Years on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TR

Posts: 64
Location: Manitoba,Canada
Gender: Dude

Offline
 Post subject: Re: GY6 Swap harness onto Stock controls
PostPosted: Sat Aug 14, 2010 1:39 pm 
Fuck me! I got it turning over! Now the fun begins. Engine had too much compression before I got it and I think the starter is too weak. before I make a permanent harness I want to actually have it idling but the guts of the wiring is figured out so far.


Top
 Profile  
 

Junior Mint
Junior Mint

Years on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TR

Posts: 64
Location: Manitoba,Canada
Gender: Dude

Offline
 Post subject: Re: GY6 Swap harness onto Stock controls
PostPosted: Mon Aug 23, 2010 4:34 pm 
OK everything going great, on the home stretch....horn won't work, lights only if I connect to dc power, brake light/running light little difference when brake applied.

Going to retrace my steps but any input is appreciated.


Top
 Profile  
 

Junior Mint
Junior Mint

Years on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TR

Posts: 64
Location: Manitoba,Canada
Gender: Dude

Offline
 Post subject: Re: GY6 Swap harness onto Stock controls
PostPosted: Tue Aug 24, 2010 12:51 pm 
Here's where I'm thinking part of the problem is....

Quote:
20) connect 12v dc at rectifier to the fused battery link.
a) if you have a black 12v dc wire on your rectifier, connect this wire to 12v dc black after the switch. from rectifier to my relay, spliced to blk on left hand controls,to my flaher unit, to the grn/blk on my tail light


Quote:
35) Connect left control black/brown to 12v AC. Test to ensure proper operation of hi and low beam with bike running).connected to my pink on rectifier which leads to my white or ac charging on stator
36) Connect left control Lite green to horn. Test for proper operation. horn is grounded lt grn to horn
37) Connect hand level green/yellow junction wire to bright brake light. Test for proper operation.grn/yellow to blk/grn on light,blk/brn to ground,yellow/green to black dc just before my relay.


Top
 Profile  
 

★TR★Addict★
★TR★Addict★
User avatar
Years on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TR

Posts: 9092
Location: Frisco TX
Gender: Dude
The way it should be
Offline
 Post subject: Re: GY6 Swap harness onto Stock controls
PostPosted: Wed Aug 25, 2010 7:28 pm 
my bad on the HORRIBLE typo that i just noticed
the relays are SPDT, single pole double throw
that might make it easier to find for those of you having troubles!

cheap!
http://www.amazon.com/VDC-Automotive-Re ... B0002KR9GG

all over ebay for dirt cheap too
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?Vi ... 602_263622

most likely you can find them under $5 local and save shipping

_________________
MY OLD 40K MILE RUCK
MY JANKY NEW BUILD


Top
 Profile  
 

Junior Mint
Junior Mint

Years on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TR

Posts: 64
Location: Manitoba,Canada
Gender: Dude

Offline
 Post subject: Re: GY6 Swap harness onto Stock controls
PostPosted: Thu Aug 26, 2010 10:54 am 
Those are the relays I am using, bike is running but doesn't start reliably it's constantly on the charger- compression is just too high and If it doesn't get some spinning momentum she'll just sit and "tick" at me. I'm sure there's a power drain somewhere and it's not being charged when running. It's a 150 bb with a stroker, and all the bells and cvt whistles it literally lifted off the ground when I briefly opened it up so I'm stumped to keep it charged and starting, busy as hell, and running out of driving/show-off time.


Top
 Profile  
 

Shot Caller
Shot Caller
User avatar
Years on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TRYears on TR

Posts: 1902
Location: Orlando Florida
Gender: Dude
The way it should be
Offline
 Post subject: Re: GY6 Swap harness onto Stock controls
PostPosted: Wed Nov 24, 2010 5:00 pm 
im a visual person , i would love to have this write up with pics =(

_________________
New GYR MONSTER WHEEL build thread viewtopic.php?f=96&t=79224

My 03 ruckus build thread sold!
viewtopic.php?f=96&t=53868
My sponsors:
Composimo
Goldenrod Customs
PC CRAZIES


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 74 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Check out who is online and not out riding.

Rucksters browsing this forum: No rucksters and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Jump to:  
 
Copyright Owners: click here to report copyright infringement

Technophobes: click here if you are having issues registering or logging in

TotalRuckus.com 2005-2015 (That’s 10 F’ing years!) - All Rights Reserved --- Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group